Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: Jesus Christ Kirche

Meinerzhagen - Jesus-Christus

04 Apr 2019 2 199
According to a local legend the name Meinerzhagen goes back to an early hermit named Meinhardus, but there is no proof. Meinerzhagen was mentioned first time in 1067 in document in Cologne dealing with the tithes. Around 1220 the late Romanesque three-aisled galleried basilica was built, a style, that is quite unique here, and more common in the Rhineland. The church, in the early days named "Unser liewen Vrowen Kerke tho Meinertzhagen", developed into a pilgrimage church, to which processions came to the miraculous image of the Virgin. During annual processions of the parish, named the holy "Drachten", the image of Virgin Mary was carried through the villages. This pilgrimage finally ended when the Reformation arrived in the 1560s. The whole community got Protestant and the church was named simply called Protestant church and laterm when in 1765 another Protestant churtch was built the "alte Kirche" ("old church"). It was not until 1967, when a second Protestant church was built, that the older one was given the name "Jesus Christ Kirche." This late Romanesque octogonal baptismal was probably thrown away after the Reformation as generation of Catholic christs hade been baptized in it. During works for a well it was found again by chance in 1909.

Meinerzhagen - Jesus-Christus

04 Apr 2019 173
According to a local legend, the name Meinerzhagen goes back to an early hermit named Meinhardus, but there is no proof. Meinerzhagen was mentioned first time in 1067 in a document in Cologne dealing with the tithes. Around 1220 the late Romanesque three-aisled galleried basilica was built, a style, that is quite unique here, and more common in the Rhineland. The church, in the early days named "Unser liewen Vrowen Kerke tho Meinertzhagen", developed into a pilgrimage church, to which processions came to the miraculous image of the Virgin. During annual processions of the parish, named the holy "Drachten", the image of Virgin Mary was carried through the villages. This pilgrimage finally ended when the Reformation arrived in the 1560s. The whole community got Protestant and the church was named simply called Protestant church and later when in 1765 another Protestant church was built the "alte Kirche" ("old church"). It was not until 1967, when a second Protestant church was built, that the older one was given the name "Jesus Christ Kirche." The flanking galleries of the Romanesque nave have trefoil windows.

Meinerzhagen - Jesus-Christus

04 Apr 2019 1 230
According to a local legend the name Meinerzhagen goes back to an early hermit named Meinhardus, but there is no proof. Meinerzhagen was mentioned first time in 1067 in document in Cologne dealing with the tithes. Around 1220 the late Romanesque three-aisled galleried basilica was built, a style, that is quite unique here, and more common in the Rhineland. The church, in the early days named "Unser liewen Vrowen Kerke tho Meinertzhagen", developed into a pilgrimage church, to which processions came to the miraculous image of the Virgin. During annual processions of the parish, named the holy "Drachten", the image of Virgin Mary was carried through the villages. This pilgrimage finally ended when the Reformation arrived in the 1560s. The whole community got Protestant and the church was named simply called Protestant church and laterm when in 1765 another Protestant churtch was built the "alte Kirche" ("old church"). It was not until 1967, when a second Protestant church was built, that the older one was given the name "Jesus Christ Kirche." The Romanesque choir got demolished in 1474. The basilica then got enlarged by a transept and a larger Gothic choir, here seen from the gallery. Meinerzhagen, "Jesus Christ Kirche", "galleried basilica", "gallery basilica", "Unser liewen Vrowen Kerke", Drachten, "Märkischer Kreis", Sauerland, NRW, "Northrhine Westphalia", Deutschland

Meinerzhagen - Jesus-Christus

04 Apr 2019 202
According to a local legend the name Meinerzhagen goes back to an early hermit named Meinhardus, but there is no proof. Meinerzhagen was mentioned first time in 1067 in document in Cologne dealing with the tithes. Around 1220 the late Romanesque three-aisled galleried basilica was built, a style, that is quite unique here, and more common in the Rhineland. The church, in the early days named "Unser liewen Vrowen Kerke tho Meinertzhagen", developed into a pilgrimage church, to which processions came to the miraculous image of the Virgin. During annual processions of the parish, named the holy "Drachten", the image of Virgin Mary was carried through the villages. This pilgrimage finally ended when the Reformation arrived in the 1560s. The whole community got Protestant and the church was named simply called Protestant church and laterm when in 1765 another Protestant churtch was built the "alte Kirche" ("old church"). It was not until 1967, when a second Protestant church was built, that the older one was given the name "Jesus Christ Kirche." The Romanesque choir got demolished in 1474. The basilica then got enlarged by a transept and a larger Gothic choir.

Meinerzhagen - Jesus-Christus

04 Apr 2019 1 173
According to a local legend the name Meinerzhagen goes back to an early hermit named Meinhardus, but there is no proof. Meinerzhagen was mentioned first time in 1067 in document in Cologne dealing with the tithes. Around 1220 the late Romanesque three-aisled galleried basilica was built, a style, that is quite unique here, and more common in the Rhineland. The church, in the early days named "Unser liewen Vrowen Kerke tho Meinertzhagen", developed into a pilgrimage church, to which processions came to the miraculous image of the Virgin. During annual processions of the parish, named the holy "Drachten", the image of Virgin Mary was carried through the villages. This pilgrimage finally ended when the Reformation arrived in the 1560s. The whole community got Protestant and the church was named simply called Protestant church and laterm when in 1765 another Protestant churtch was built the "alte Kirche" ("old church"). It was not until 1967, when a second Protestant church was built, that the older one was given the name "Jesus Christ Kirche." The Romanesque choir got replaced by a Gothic one in 15th century. In 1797 the church got severely damaged by fire, so the massive tower was rebuilt from 1816 on.