Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: basilica minor
Boppard - St. Severus
15 Feb 2021 |
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234.
The enthroned Madonna was carved from alder wood around 1260.
Boppard - St. Severus
15 Feb 2021 |
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234.
In 1838 Jakob Nicknic found the time to carve his name into the bench. He may be one of the ancestors of the Nicknig-family, that I found in the phone directory.
Boppard - St. Severus
14 Feb 2021 |
|
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234.
This gravestone, today displayed in the church, was found in 1973 during excavation work. It was cracked in two parts. It is dated to the 6th century - and reads
HIC IN PACE Q[VIE]SCVNT BENEDICTVS / IACONIS BES[ON]TIO ET NEPTIS SVA / BENEDICTA PV[ELL]A IVSTICIOLA / OBIIT IVSTIC[I]OLA PVELLA VIII KA(LENDAS) / ET IACONISa) BESONTIO VIIb K(ALENDAS) APRI(LES)
Here rest in peace the blessed deacon Besontio and his niece, the blessed girl Justiciola. The girl Justiciola died on the eighth and the deacon Besontio on the seventh (day) before the calendar of April.
Boppard - St. Severus
14 Feb 2021 |
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234.
The triumphal cross is 285 cm high and 248 cm wide. It was masterly created around 1220/1230. Christ does not wear a crown of thorns but a royal crown that characterizes him as the victor over death.
Seen to the left is the top part of the umbraculum. The symbol is bestowed by the pope when he elevates a church to the rank of a minor basilica.
Boppard - St. Severus
14 Feb 2021 |
|
|
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234. There are strong parallels to near churches as St. Peter in Bacharach and Liebfrauenkirche in Andernach, all works of late Romanesque studios in the Rhineland.
Boppard - St. Severus
14 Feb 2021 |
|
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire, the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234. There are strong parallels to near churches as St. Peter in Bacharach and Liebfrauenkirche in Andernach, all works of late Romanesque studios in the Rhineland.
A grim-looking guy watches anybody, who enters the church. Just dare to pass him.
Boppard - St. Severus
14 Feb 2021 |
|
Boppard (known in Roman times as Vicus Baudobriga) lies on the Rhine Gorge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.
After the end of the Roman Empire the population continued to live in the former Roman fort, that in the 5th century became a Merovingian royal seat. A century later a predecessor of today's St. Severus Church was built from the remains of the abandoned Roman bath. In medieval times Boppard was often visited by the German kings, who then resided in the royal court.
Excavations proofed that the early Christian church from the 6th century was a 9 × 32 meter church room with a small apse to the East. This church burnt down in the 10th century and got replaced by a smaller building. Around 1000 canons had formed a collegiate and cared for the pastoral needs.
Today´s St. Severus church was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The two church towers date from the middle of the 12th century (the helmets are from the 17th century), the nave was built at the beginning of the 13th century and its likely completion is dated to 1225. The choir finally dates to around the year 1234. There are strong parallels to near churches as St. Peter in Bacharach and Liebfrauenkirche in Andernach, all works of late Romanesque studios in the Rhineland.
The main portal is guarded by small lions. This is a "Basilica Minor", so the Papal sign is in the centre of the tympanum.
L’Épine - Basilique Notre-Dame
23 May 2020 |
|
|
Since the 13th century a small church, dedicated to the Virgin, was known here, that developed into a place of pilgrimage. Rich donations made the erection of the church seen today possible. The construction started in 1405 and was completed in 1527.
Basilique Notre-Dame, located in a village (pop. ~600), is about 59 metres long. Here is the nave. On the 17th-century rod screen is the red and yellow "umbraculum", one of the symbols bestowed by the pope, when he elevated the church to the rank of a "basilica minor". Below is a replica of the miraculous statue of the Virgin. According to a legend the statue was found by shepherds in the Middle Ages in a burning thorn bush.
Neuss - Quirinus-Münster
19 Jun 2018 |
|
A settlement developed around a Roman miltary camp, built up 16BC and named "Novaesium". Where the church is now was a Roman graveyard in the early times. When the Normans raided Neuss in 866 a convent existed already in Neuss.
A church is mentioned here in 1043, legends tell, that Abbess Gepa, the sister of Pope Leo IX, brought the relics of Saint Quirinus (now "Saint Quirinus of Neuss") a 2nd century-martyr, from Rome to Neuss, what brought pilgrims to the growing town.
The monastery, now under the patronage of Saint Quirinus, was a house of noble canonesses mid 12th century.
The construction of today´s church started in 1209 in late Romanesque style. There was clear influence from nearby Cologne, as just like the older St. Maria im Kapitol ("St. Mary in the Capitol") this church has a trefoil choir ("triconchos"). The church was completed already in 1230 - and then the tower grew up to nearly 100 metres.
In 1741, the church was badly damaged by lightning and The gothic helmets of the west and east towers over the crossing. Instead, the building got a Baroque dome with the statue of Quirinus and a flat pyramid roof on the main tower.
After the French Revolution the church goot looted and then served as a storage room. The monastery buildings were demolished at that time.
In 1944 the church got damaged by a bomb attack. Meanwhile the building is in good condition.
The golden shrine holding the relics of Saint Quirinus was created in the 19th century. It replaced one, that mow is kept in the museum. Since 2009 the Quirinus-Münster is a "Basilica minor". The symbol for this honor is the umbraculum, the umbrella behind the shrine.
Paray-le-Monial - Basilique du Sacré Coeur
11 Sep 2011 |
|
The "Basilique du Sacré Coeur" in Paray-le-Monial. A monastry existing here since 974 became a dependency of nearby Cluny in 999. The first church "Paray I" was consecrated by Odilo of Cluny in 1004. Though enlarged later to "Paray II" by the still existing westwork and narthex, abbot Hugh of Cluny started the building of now existing church "Paray III" in 1090. As it has lots of similarities to the only little older "Cluny III", it is sometimes called "Small Cluny". Paray-Le-Monial played a role in the medieval pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela.
Today pilgims are back. Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque lived here, a nun and mystic, who had visions in 1673. She promoted devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. So Paray-le-Monial now again is a place of pilgrimage in France. Even the patronage of the basilique changed in the 19th century from "Basilique du Notre Dame" to "Basilique du du Sacré Coeur".
I have already uploaded a lot of photos of Paray-le-Monial, I took during other visits. So I will only add some new photos, like this one.
Standing in the nave, near the crossing looking into the choir. Over years this area got renovated. There was an huge, ugly wooden wall installed in the nave. In 2010 I saw this choir the first time.
There is a yellow/red umbrella on the very right.. This is not an ordenary parasol. It is an "umbraculum" (aka "conopeum), one of the papal emblems of a "basilica minor".
Jump to top
RSS feed- Martin M. Miles' latest photos with "basilica minor" - Photos
- ipernity © 2007-2025
- Help & Contact
|
Club news
|
About ipernity
|
History |
ipernity Club & Prices |
Guide of good conduct
Donate | Group guidelines | Privacy policy | Terms of use | Statutes | In memoria -
Facebook
Twitter