Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: Buonadonna de' Segni
Poggibonsi - Convento di San Lucchese
12 Sep 2016 |
|
|
The Gothic Basilica of San Lucchese was erected on the remains of a pre-existing church. When around 1215 Francis of Assisi visited Poggibonsi the preceding church and two houses nearby were given to him and his friars. At that time he met with Luchesius Modestini (aka "San Luchese"), who along with his wife, Buonadonna de' Segni, became the first members of the Franciscan Order of Penance (= "Third Order of St. Francis"). The pious couple live here and died together on 1260. As soon after many miracles happened near their relics, a pilgrimage developed - and the couple got beatified and canonized.
Today Saint Lucchese is the patron saint of Poggibonsi.
The monks used this cloister upto upto 1810, when, under Napoleonic rule, the monastery was suppressed and the monks were expelled.
Poggibonsi - Convento di San Lucchese
12 Sep 2016 |
|
The large Gothic Basilica of San Lucchese was erected on the remains of a pre-existing church. When around 1215 Francis of Assisi visited Poggibonsi the preceding church and two houses nearby were given to him and his friars. At that time he met with Luchesius Modestini (aka "San Luchese"), who along with his wife, Buonadonna de' Segni, became the first members of the Franciscan Order of Penance (= "Third Order of St. Francis"). The pious couple live here and died together on 1260. As soon after many miracles happened near their relics, a pilgrimage developed - and the couple got beatified and canonized.
Today Saint Lucchese is the patron saint of Poggibonsi.
The convent existed here upto 1810, when, under Napoleonioc rule,
the monastery was suppressed and all monks were expelled.
Poggibonsi - Convento di San Lucchese
12 Sep 2016 |
|
The large Gothic Basilica of San Lucchese was erected on the remains of a pre-existing church. When around 1215 Francis of Assisi visited Poggibonsi the preceding church and two houses nearby were given to him and his friars. At that time he met with Luchesius Modestini (aka "San Luchese"), who along with his wife, Buonadonna de' Segni, became the first members of the Franciscan Order of Penance (= "Third Order of St. Francis"). The pious couple live here and died together on 1260. As soon after many miracles happened near their relics, a pilgrimage developed - and the couple got beatified and canonized.
The convent existed here upto 1810, when, under Napoleonic rule, the monastery was suppressed and all monks were expelled.
Jump to top
RSS feed- Martin M. Miles' latest photos with "Buonadonna de' Segni" - Photos
- ipernity © 2007-2025
- Help & Contact
|
Club news
|
About ipernity
|
History |
ipernity Club & Prices |
Guide of good conduct
Donate | Group guidelines | Privacy policy | Terms of use | Statutes | In memoria -
Facebook
Twitter