Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: siècle d’or de St. Louis

Chambly - Notre-Dame

29 Nov 2016 323
The story goes, that Louis IX of France (aka "Saint Louis", "le Prudhomme") donated this church to Chambly after he had visited the town in 1248. Louis IX is generally remembered for "le siècle d’or de St. Louis", the golden century, what fits into the legend. The erection of the church started soon after, when in 1260 the apse was built. In only 20 years the builders completed the structure in a style called "Gothic rayonannt", influenced by the Sainte Chapelle (1240s). The church, located in the center of Chambly, is 53 metres long and 20 metres wide. The nave and the light-flooded choir.

Chambly - Notre-Dame

29 Nov 2016 2 300
The story goes, that Louis IX of France (aka "Saint Louis", "le Prudhomme") donated this church to Chambly after he had visited the town in 1248. Louis IX is generally remembered for "le siècle d’or de St. Louis", the golden century, what fits into the legend. The erection of the church started soon after, when in 1260 the apse was built. In only 20 years the builders completed the structure in a style called "Gothic rayonannt", influenced by the Sainte Chapelle (1240s). The church, located in the center of Chambly, is 53 metres long and 20 metres wide. The large windows of the apse.. there are indeed parallels to the Sainte Chapelle, that is a few decades older and only about 40 kms south.

Chambly - Notre-Dame

29 Nov 2016 1 318
The story goes, that Louis IX of France (aka "Saint Louis", "le Prudhomme") donated this church to Chambly after he had visited the town in 1248. Louis IX is generally remembered for "le siècle d’or de St. Louis", the golden century, what fits into the legend. The erection of the church started soon after, when in 1260 the apse was built. In only 20 years the builders completed the structure in a style called "Gothic rayonannt", influenced by the Sainte Chapelle (1240s). The church, located in the center of Chambly, is 53 metres long and 20 metres wide.

Chambly - Notre-Dame

29 Nov 2016 309
The story goes, that Louis IX of France (aka "Saint Louis", "le Prudhomme") donated this church to Chambly after he had visited the town in 1248. Louis IX is generally remembered for "le siècle d’or de St. Louis", the golden century, what fits into the legend. The erection of the church started soon after, when in 1260 the apse was built. In only 20 years the builders completed the structure in a style called "Gothic rayonannt", influenced by the Sainte Chapelle (1240s). The church, located in the center of Chambly, is 53 metres long and 20 metres wide.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

15 Mar 2015 1 345
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The Flagellation of Christ.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 313
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The Magi following the star - and meeting Herod in Jerusalem. Note the "fleurs-de-lis".

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 2 318
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The Adoration of the Magi. The star has reached its final position. Young Jesus stands on Mary´s knees and is already pretty tall. On the top left (only partyl seen) the Massacre of the Innocents has started.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 1 299
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The sleeping Magi.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 322
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 310
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 293
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here the choir.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 269
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". During recent excavations different skeletons were unearthed under its floor. Wells inside churches are often indicators of pre christian cults. So maybe, just like in nearby Notre-Dame-de-Bonne-Garde in Longpont-sur-Orge, this was a meeting place for celtic druids.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 238
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". During recent excavations different skeletons were unearthed under its floor. On one of the walls is this relief. Saint Sulpice, blessing the deseased and badly injured pilgrims.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 1 274
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". In one of its corners this statue of Saint Sulpice is placed. The chapel was used as a burial place in the beginning. During recent excavations different skeletons were unearthed.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 363
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". Standing in the nave, facing to the wonderful choir. Left and right are narrow aisles. This is the part, where the vaulting collapsed in 1652. It got replaced by the wooden ceiling. The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". This is to the very left.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 278
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The vandals of the Revolution made a great effort, to destroy the western facade. Seen here is the central tympanum (the other two are worse). Either the vandals only had a short ladder, as they only smashed the two lower tiers, or the top tier is the result of a 19th century restoration. This once was the "Last Judgement". What still can be seen is the "Mouth of Hell" (left). The "Weighing of the Souls" (center) and all other details are completely destroyed.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 1 318
Such a small village - and such an imposing church! A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The vandals of the Revolution made a great effort, to destroy the western facade, but fortunately did not touch most of the stained glass windows.