Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: Harold Godwinson
Riccall - St Mary
24 May 2024 |
|
|
Riccall is noted for being the place where Harold Hardrada's force of invaders landed in 1066, just before the Battle of Stamford Bridge between an English army under King Harold Godwinson and an invading Norwegian force led by King Harald Hardrada and the English king's brother Tostig Godwinson. Although Harold Godwinson repelled the Norwegian invaders, his army was defeated by the Normans at Hastings less than three weeks later.
The oldest part of the church are the three western bays of the nave, which date from the mid- or late-12th century. The tower was built around the end of that century, then in the early 13th century, arcades were added, followed in the late 13th century by the chancel and north chapel. The chancel was repaired some time after 1472, when a south chapel was added. Between then and the English Reformation, the nave was heightened, a rood loft added, the aisles were widened, and a porch was built.
The church's most noted feature is the south doorway, built in the 1150s and reset twice, most recently in the 15th century.
A detail
Fighters, faces, a well-dressed cat, strange hairdos and a dog or donkey playing the harp...
Riccall - St Mary
24 May 2024 |
|
|
Riccall is noted for being the place where Harold Hardrada's force of invaders landed in 1066, just before the Battle of Stamford Bridge between an English army under King Harold Godwinson and an invading Norwegian force led by King Harald Hardrada and the English king's brother Tostig Godwinson. Although Harold Godwinson repelled the Norwegian invaders, his army was defeated by the Normans at Hastings less than three weeks later.
The oldest part of the church are the three western bays of the nave, which date from the mid- or late-12th century. The tower was built around the end of that century, then in the early 13th century, arcades were added, followed in the late 13th century by the chancel and north chapel. The chancel was repaired some time after 1472, when a south chapel was added. Between then and the English Reformation, the nave was heightened, a rood loft added, the aisles were widened, and a porch was built.
The church's most noted feature is the south doorway, built in the 1150s and reset twice, most recently in the 15th century.
Riccall - St Mary
24 May 2024 |
|
|
Riccall is noted for being the place where Harold Hardrada's force of invaders landed in 1066, just before the Battle of Stamford Bridge between an English army under King Harold Godwinson and an invading Norwegian force led by King Harald Hardrada and the English king's brother Tostig Godwinson. Although Harold Godwinson repelled the Norwegian invaders, his army was defeated by the Normans at Hastings less than three weeks later.
The oldest part of the church are the three western bays of the nave, which date from the mid- or late-12th century. The tower was built around the end of that century, then in the early 13th century, arcades were added, followed in the late 13th century by the chancel and north chapel. The chancel was repaired some time after 1472, when a south chapel was added. Between then and the English Reformation, the nave was heightened, a rood loft added, the aisles were widened, and a porch was built.
Bayeux - Cathedral
12 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The oldest part of the structure is the crypt, as that existed already under the Carolingian church, that burnt down in 1047, though it was probably altered, when the "new" cathedral was built above.
Bayeux - Cathedral
12 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The oldest part of the structure is the crypt, as that existed already under the Carolingian church, that burnt down in 1047, though it was probably altered, when the "new" cathedral was built above.
Bayeux - Cathedral
12 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings. This couple is known under the name "Les amoureux de Bayeux", "The Bayeux Lovers". They do not look really happy.
Bayeux - Cathedral
12 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings.
Here is a dwarf with a pot-belly and a very strange beard. As this cathedral is one of the focal points of the House of Normandy´s power demonstration, it may well be, that this dwarf is a caricature of the late English King Sven I ( aka "Sweyn Forkbeard", "Svend Tveskæg", "Sven Gabelbart", "Barbe Fourchue"), son (and opponent) of Danish King Harald Bluetooth. Sven was English King for only 40 days, he died in 1014.
So this dwarf may stand for danish claims in England, wiped out by William the Conqueror in 1066.
Bayeux - Cathedral
12 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings. Many dangerous and scary dragons, lions and chimeras populate the higher regions of the nave. Here are a only couple of them, but more than enough to give the pious parishioners a real nightmare.
Bayeux - Cathedral
12 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings. On the left side of the nave are two (!) bishops. Local information tells, that the left one is St. Vigor, who had built the first church in Bayeux, after having destroyed the pagan temple on the same place. There is no information about the second bishop. Maybe this is Odon de Bayeux.
Bayeux - Cathedral
11 Sep 2014 |
|
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings. Here is a monkey in chains displayed by his master on a pillar. These monkeys in chains or on ropes, - "singe cordé" - can often be seen in the Auvergne, but this is the first I found in the Normandie.
Here is something to read about medieval monkeys:
mad.hypotheses.org/37
theses.enc.sorbonne.fr/2014/gaudron
Bayeux - Cathedral
11 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in a nearby museum.
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings. The arch consists out of 62 different heads. This seems to be a typical "norman" design, as similar, but simpler arches can be found in many churches here.
Bayeux - Cathedral
11 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in the "Musée de la Tapisserie de Bayeux".
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
The nave, facing east to the choir. In medieval times the Bayeux Tapestry, which is more than 68m long, was displayed here once per year. The structure of the nave is still Romanesque, so are many decorating carvings.
Here are details about the Bayeux Tapestry:
www.bayeuxmuseum.com/en/la_tapisserie_de_bayeux_en.html
Bayeux - Cathedral
11 Sep 2014 |
|
The cathedral "Notre-Dame de Bayeux" is the seat of the Bishop of Bayeux. It was the original home of the Bayeux Tapestry, that by now can be seen in a nearby museum.
As seen on the Bayeux Tapestry, it was here that William the Bastard forced Harold Godwinson to take the oath, the breaking of which led to the Norman conquest of England. So William got "the Conqueror".
The preceding carolingian cathedral burnt down in 1047 and soon after the construction of the church seen today started. The cathedral got consecrated in 1077 by power-hungry Odon de Bayeux, who was William´s half-brother, well known warrior and bishop here. Of course, William was present during the consecration, as then he was Duke of Normandy and King of England.
At that time the building was not completed, the construction site was seriously damaged twice by fire during the 12th century and, when the walls of the nave were built (1180) the style changed from Romanesque to Gothic.
The cathedral got pillaged by Huguenots during the Wars of Religions, during the French Cathedral this was a "Temple de la Raison".
Renovation and restauration of the cathedral started mid 19th century under the direction of Eugène Viollet-le-Duc.
Jump to top
RSS feed- Martin M. Miles' latest photos with "Harold Godwinson" - Photos
- ipernity © 2007-2025
- Help & Contact
|
Club news
|
About ipernity
|
History |
ipernity Club & Prices |
Guide of good conduct
Donate | Group guidelines | Privacy policy | Terms of use | Statutes | In memoria -
Facebook
Twitter