Martin M. Miles' photos with the keyword: Sulpice le Pieux

Les Ormes - Prieuré de Saint Sulpice

06 May 2015 1 170
The "Priory of Saint Sulpice" is located about 4km south east of Les Ormes, near the "Château de La Fontaine". The priory was depended from the Benedictine "Abbey of Noyers", founded near Nouatre (16km north) in 1030. In 1035 land was given to the abbey here, so the the abbey could establish the priory soon after. The size of area was defined by what "could be ploughed by six oxes within a day" (~10 acres). This makes clear, that the monks installed a working farm here, producing food and funds for the abbey. This is still clearly visible, as many buildings of the priory still exist. Over the centuries a small hamlet grew up around the (fortified!) priory. The priory is privately owned since the French Revolution. We were lucky, to meet the owner, who not only allowed us to enter the premises but also showed us the priory and told us many details of it´s history. Merci beaucoup! The priory existed through many wars and feuds including the Hundred Years War and the French Wars of Religion. This statue of Saint Sulpice (aka "Sulpice le Pieux") was destroyed during the French Revolution. The parts were found by the owner of the priory - and put together. By digging in the garden human bones get unearthed at times, as this was a cemetery over centuries. The bones are collected and buried again on the hamlet´s new graveyard.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

15 Mar 2015 1 341
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The Flagellation of Christ.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 310
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The Magi following the star - and meeting Herod in Jerusalem. Note the "fleurs-de-lis".

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 2 313
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The Adoration of the Magi. The star has reached its final position. Young Jesus stands on Mary´s knees and is already pretty tall. On the top left (only partyl seen) the Massacre of the Innocents has started.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 1 295
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here are details. The sleeping Magi.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

13 Mar 2015 320
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 307
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 290
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The church is known for the elegant, delicate High Gothic architecture and for the beautiful stained glass windows from the 13th century. Here the choir.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 266
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". During recent excavations different skeletons were unearthed under its floor. Wells inside churches are often indicators of pre christian cults. So maybe, just like in nearby Notre-Dame-de-Bonne-Garde in Longpont-sur-Orge, this was a meeting place for celtic druids.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 237
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". During recent excavations different skeletons were unearthed under its floor. On one of the walls is this relief. Saint Sulpice, blessing the deseased and badly injured pilgrims.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 1 272
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". In one of its corners this statue of Saint Sulpice is placed. The chapel was used as a burial place in the beginning. During recent excavations different skeletons were unearthed.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 360
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". Standing in the nave, facing to the wonderful choir. Left and right are narrow aisles. This is the part, where the vaulting collapsed in 1652. It got replaced by the wooden ceiling. The oldest part of the structure (and once the center of pilgrimage) is a small chapel named "Chapelle des Miracles". This is to the very left.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 276
A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The vandals of the Revolution made a great effort, to destroy the western facade. Seen here is the central tympanum (the other two are worse). Either the vandals only had a short ladder, as they only smashed the two lower tiers, or the top tier is the result of a 19th century restoration. This once was the "Last Judgement". What still can be seen is the "Mouth of Hell" (left). The "Weighing of the Souls" (center) and all other details are completely destroyed.

Saint-Sulpice-de-Favières - Saint-Sulpice

12 Mar 2015 1 317
Such a small village - and such an imposing church! A first church may have existed around 1100. Some parts of a church erected around 1170 still exist. This was already dedicated to Saint Sulpitius the Pious ("Sulpice le Pieux"), chaplain on the court of Clotaire II, King of the Franks, and later Bishop of Bourges. As the church kept relics of Saint-Sulpice, this was a place for many pilgrims from the very beginning. The construction of the High Gothic church seen today began around 1260. It is for sure the work of an experienced architect, who even may have had ties to the royal court, as the building was financed by Louis IX (aka "Saint Louis") and the Bishopric of Paris. By promoting the pilgrimage to this church, Louis IX from the House of Capet tracked his roots over six centuries back to Merovingian Clotaire II. This church was built during the "siècle d’or de St. Louis", when the Kingdom of France was politically and economically at its height in Europe. Of course, such a "royal symbol" had to suffer in the centuries to come. In 1652, during the civil wars ("Fronde"), the church was set on fire. The roof burnt down and the vaultings over four bays collapsed. During the French Revolution the church was severely damaged and later converted into a "Temple of Reason". The vandals of the Revolution made a great effort, to destroy the western facade, but fortunately did not touch most of the stained glass windows.

Tamerville - Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption

18 Sep 2014 181
The parish church "Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption" in the center of Tamerville has a remarkable Romanesque tower. The church (and the tower) were erected mid 12th century, but the church got enlarged and altered over the time. The church was dedicated to Saint Mayeul (aka "Mayeul de Cluny", "Majolus of Cluny"). Saint Mayeul, important abbot of Cluny, built Cluny II. There must have been a connection to the Burgundy in the early times. The two chapels, that were added to the church, are dedicated to Saint Jacques and Saint Sulpice. The statue, seen here, may depict Saint Sulpice, who in real life had two arms and never used mascara and lipstick. He was a Bishop!

Oyré - Saint-Sulpice

02 Dec 2013 1 258
A papal bull issued by Pope Alexander III in 1163 mentions this small church as part of the priory "Saint-Denis" in Vaux (sur Vienne), about 10 kms west). The church, dedicated to Sulpice le Pieux, was erected end of the 11th century in a primitive Romanesque style, not at all influenced by the more elegant "style saintonge". Along the western facade runs a gallery, what is rather unique. It is lined with stone benches and probably was the meeting place for the villagers over centuries. The church got remodeled during the 17th century, when it got enlarged and a chapel was added. During the French Revolution the church got damaged. The crumbling apse got demolished and rebuilt during a disputed restauration end of the 19th century. The church is small, but has about 20 carved capitals, that were obviously created by three different workshops, who all had their specific style. The capitals seen on the previous uploads were connected to pilgrimage/politics and were carevd in a very detailed style. This capital is carved in a very rough style by another workshop. A musician playing a vielle - two birds - a very nice flutist - and a dancer, who seems to dance the twist. If this is right, the names of the birds can only be "Chubby" and "Checker". Here is, what I mean: www.youtube.com/watch?v=im9XuJJXylw

Oyré - Saint-Sulpice

02 Dec 2013 217
A papal bull issued by Pope Alexander III in 1163 mentions this small church as part of the priory "Saint-Denis" in Vaux (sur Vienne), about 10 kms west). The church, dedicated to Sulpice le Pieux, was erected end of the 11th century in a primitive Romanesque style, not at all influenced by the more elegant "style saintonge". Along the western facade runs a gallery, what is rather unique. It is lined with stone benches and probably was the meeting place for the villagers over centuries. The church got remodeled during the 17th century, when it got enlarged and a chapel was added. During the French Revolution the church got damaged. The crumbling apse got demolished and rebuilt during a disputed restauration end of the 19th century. The church is small, but has about 20 carved capitals. Most of them have a strange, primitive style. The same capital again, but now seen from a different angle, focussed on the captive. It seems, that half of the face is chipped off. The person is a huge monster. In case this scene refers to the Reconquista this monster depicts a Muslim. "Modern" war propaganda still works the same way..

Oyré - Saint-Sulpice

02 Dec 2013 227
A papal bull issued by Pope Alexander III in 1163 mentions this small church as part of the priory "Saint-Denis" in Vaux (sur Vienne), about 10 kms west). The church, dedicated to Sulpice le Pieux, was erected end of the 11th century in a primitive Romanesque style, not at all influenced by the more elegant "style saintonge". Along the western facade runs a gallery, what is rather unique. It is lined with stone benches and probably was the meeting place for the villagers over centuries. The church got remodeled during the 17th century, when it got enlarged and a chapel was added. During the French Revolution the church got damaged. The crumbling apse got demolished and rebuilt during a disputed restauration end of the 19th century. The church is small, but has about 20 carved capitals. Most of them have a strange, primitive style. The person in the center is flanked by two captives. A part of an iron chain can still be seen on the arm of the male captive. In Faye-la-Vineuse, less than 30kms northeast, I had seen a moorish horseman (with a scimitar), persued by a Christian knight (with a cross on his shield). Is this the end of that fight? There are several traces in Oyré, showing influences from Spain. It is highly probable that this scene refers to the Reconquista - and the captives are muslims.

26 items in total