LaurieAnnie's photos with the keyword: mansion

Pet Cemetery Outside the Haunted Mansion in Disney…

19 May 2006 1736
Disneyland Haunted Mansion Pet Cemetery FREDDIE the Bat 1847 We'll Miss You OLD FLYBAIT He Croaked August 9 1869 ROSIE She was a poor little Pig but she bought the Farm 1849 BUDDY OUR FRIEND UNTIL THE END Beloved Lilac Long on Curiosity... Short on Common Scents 1847 There is a cat surrounded by little mouse grave markers. One that says "Fi Fi"

Blue Wedding Cake, 2004

31 May 2006 316
BLUE wedding cake with my sister and brother-in-law's monogrammed initials on the octagon base. They had the cake made to their specifications.

Blue Wedding Cake, 2004

31 May 2006 327
Yes, the cake was BLUE. My sister and brother-in-law had it made to their specifications.

Condre Hall in Huntington, 2003

21 Dec 2005 366
Condre Hall in Huntington, Long Island.

Hempstead House at Sands Point, 2005

21 Dec 2005 364
Hempstead House, one of the "Gold Coast" mansions on the North Shore of Long Island. Inside the foyer of Hempstead House, one glimpse of the imposing vaulted ceiling stirs the imagination of a grand lifestyle that once existed at this Gold Coast estate. Even though the house is no longer furnished, its architecture provides a hint of an elegant time long gone. In its heyday in the 1920s, Hempstead House revealed a taste for extravagance. In the Entry Foyer was an organ made of oak. The pipes still visible on the walls above were merely for show - the music reverberated through openings in the floors. Medieval tapestries once hung on the walls, and oriental carpets covered the floor. The sunken Palm Court once contained 150 species of rare orchids and other plants. An aviary housed exotic birds in ornate cages among the flowers. The walnut-paneled Library was copied from the palace of King James I; relief portraits of literary figures still decorate the plaster ceiling. The Billiard Room featured a gold leaf ceiling, hand-tooled leather wall coverings, and carved oak woodwork from a 17th century Spanish palace. Even now, stone gargoyles around the ceiling peer down from above in the Summer Living Room. Other decorative features of the house during the Guggenheims’ occupancy included stained and leaded glass, red velvet draperies, Flemish tapestries, and artwork by Rembrandt, Van Dyck, and Rubens. In its prime, the estate employed 17 house servants, numerous farmers and groundskeepers, a golf pro, tennis pro, and a riding master. After Daniel passed away, his wife turned the buildings over to the Navy for a training center. During the late 1940s, extensive changes were made to the interior. The Palm Court’s original leaded glass roof was removed, and acoustic tile and fluorescent lighting were installed to conform to Navy code. At present, most of the Navy’s modifications have been removed and Hempstead House is now operated by the Nassau County Department of Parks, Recreation and Museums Text from: www.sandspointpreserve.org/htm/hempstead.htm

Windows of Hempstead House at Sands Point Preserve…

21 Dec 2005 402
Windows of Hempstead House, one of the "Gold Coast" mansions on the North Shore of Long Island. Inside the foyer of Hempstead House, one glimpse of the imposing vaulted ceiling stirs the imagination of a grand lifestyle that once existed at this Gold Coast estate. Even though the house is no longer furnished, its architecture provides a hint of an elegant time long gone. In its heyday in the 1920s, Hempstead House revealed a taste for extravagance. In the Entry Foyer was an organ made of oak. The pipes still visible on the walls above were merely for show - the music reverberated through openings in the floors. Medieval tapestries once hung on the walls, and oriental carpets covered the floor. The sunken Palm Court once contained 150 species of rare orchids and other plants. An aviary housed exotic birds in ornate cages among the flowers. The walnut-paneled Library was copied from the palace of King James I; relief portraits of literary figures still decorate the plaster ceiling. The Billiard Room featured a gold leaf ceiling, hand-tooled leather wall coverings, and carved oak woodwork from a 17th century Spanish palace. Even now, stone gargoyles around the ceiling peer down from above in the Summer Living Room. Other decorative features of the house during the Guggenheims’ occupancy included stained and leaded glass, red velvet draperies, Flemish tapestries, and artwork by Rembrandt, Van Dyck, and Rubens. In its prime, the estate employed 17 house servants, numerous farmers and groundskeepers, a golf pro, tennis pro, and a riding master. After Daniel passed away, his wife turned the buildings over to the Navy for a training center. During the late 1940s, extensive changes were made to the interior. The Palm Court’s original leaded glass roof was removed, and acoustic tile and fluorescent lighting were installed to conform to Navy code. At present, most of the Navy’s modifications have been removed and Hempstead House is now operated by the Nassau County Department of Parks, Recreation and Museums Text from: www.sandspointpreserve.org/htm/hempstead.htm

Hempstead House at Sands Point Preserve, 2005

21 Dec 2005 372
Hempstead House, one of the "Gold Coast" mansions on the North Shore of Long Island, New York. Inside the foyer of Hempstead House, one glimpse of the imposing vaulted ceiling stirs the imagination of a grand lifestyle that once existed at this Gold Coast estate. Even though the house is no longer furnished, its architecture provides a hint of an elegant time long gone. In its heyday in the 1920s, Hempstead House revealed a taste for extravagance. In the Entry Foyer was an organ made of oak. The pipes still visible on the walls above were merely for show - the music reverberated through openings in the floors. Medieval tapestries once hung on the walls, and oriental carpets covered the floor. The sunken Palm Court once contained 150 species of rare orchids and other plants. An aviary housed exotic birds in ornate cages among the flowers. The walnut-paneled Library was copied from the palace of King James I; relief portraits of literary figures still decorate the plaster ceiling. The Billiard Room featured a gold leaf ceiling, hand-tooled leather wall coverings, and carved oak woodwork from a 17th century Spanish palace. Even now, stone gargoyles around the ceiling peer down from above in the Summer Living Room. Other decorative features of the house during the Guggenheims’ occupancy included stained and leaded glass, red velvet draperies, Flemish tapestries, and artwork by Rembrandt, Van Dyck, and Rubens. In its prime, the estate employed 17 house servants, numerous farmers and groundskeepers, a golf pro, tennis pro, and a riding master. After Daniel passed away, his wife turned the buildings over to the Navy for a training center. During the late 1940s, extensive changes were made to the interior. The Palm Court’s original leaded glass roof was removed, and acoustic tile and fluorescent lighting were installed to conform to Navy code. At present, most of the Navy’s modifications have been removed and Hempstead House is now operated by the Nassau County Department of Parks, Recreation and Museums Text from: www.sandspointpreserve.org/htm/hempstead.htm

Hempstead House at Sands Point, 2005

21 Dec 2005 457
Hempstead House, one of the "Gold Coast" mansions on the North Shore of Long Island, New York. Inside the foyer of Hempstead House, one glimpse of the imposing vaulted ceiling stirs the imagination of a grand lifestyle that once existed at this Gold Coast estate. Even though the house is no longer furnished, its architecture provides a hint of an elegant time long gone. In its heyday in the 1920s, Hempstead House revealed a taste for extravagance. In the Entry Foyer was an organ made of oak. The pipes still visible on the walls above were merely for show - the music reverberated through openings in the floors. Medieval tapestries once hung on the walls, and oriental carpets covered the floor. The sunken Palm Court once contained 150 species of rare orchids and other plants. An aviary housed exotic birds in ornate cages among the flowers. The walnut-paneled Library was copied from the palace of King James I; relief portraits of literary figures still decorate the plaster ceiling. The Billiard Room featured a gold leaf ceiling, hand-tooled leather wall coverings, and carved oak woodwork from a 17th century Spanish palace. Even now, stone gargoyles around the ceiling peer down from above in the Summer Living Room. Other decorative features of the house during the Guggenheims’ occupancy included stained and leaded glass, red velvet draperies, Flemish tapestries, and artwork by Rembrandt, Van Dyck, and Rubens. In its prime, the estate employed 17 house servants, numerous farmers and groundskeepers, a golf pro, tennis pro, and a riding master. After Daniel passed away, his wife turned the buildings over to the Navy for a training center. During the late 1940s, extensive changes were made to the interior. The Palm Court’s original leaded glass roof was removed, and acoustic tile and fluorescent lighting were installed to conform to Navy code. At present, most of the Navy’s modifications have been removed and Hempstead House is now operated by the Nassau County Department of Parks, Recreation and Museums Text from: www.sandspointpreserve.org/htm/hempstead.htm

Hempstead House at Sands Point Preserve, 2005

21 Dec 2005 489
Hempstead House, one of the "Gold Coast" mansions on the North Shore of Long Island. Inside the foyer of Hempstead House, one glimpse of the imposing vaulted ceiling stirs the imagination of a grand lifestyle that once existed at this Gold Coast estate. Even though the house is no longer furnished, its architecture provides a hint of an elegant time long gone. In its heyday in the 1920s, Hempstead House revealed a taste for extravagance. In the Entry Foyer was an organ made of oak. The pipes still visible on the walls above were merely for show - the music reverberated through openings in the floors. Medieval tapestries once hung on the walls, and oriental carpets covered the floor. The sunken Palm Court once contained 150 species of rare orchids and other plants. An aviary housed exotic birds in ornate cages among the flowers. The walnut-paneled Library was copied from the palace of King James I; relief portraits of literary figures still decorate the plaster ceiling. The Billiard Room featured a gold leaf ceiling, hand-tooled leather wall coverings, and carved oak woodwork from a 17th century Spanish palace. Even now, stone gargoyles around the ceiling peer down from above in the Summer Living Room. Other decorative features of the house during the Guggenheims’ occupancy included stained and leaded glass, red velvet draperies, Flemish tapestries, and artwork by Rembrandt, Van Dyck, and Rubens. In its prime, the estate employed 17 house servants, numerous farmers and groundskeepers, a golf pro, tennis pro, and a riding master. After Daniel passed away, his wife turned the buildings over to the Navy for a training center. During the late 1940s, extensive changes were made to the interior. The Palm Court’s original leaded glass roof was removed, and acoustic tile and fluorescent lighting were installed to conform to Navy code. At present, most of the Navy’s modifications have been removed and Hempstead House is now operated by the Nassau County Department of Parks, Recreation and Museums Text from: www.sandspointpreserve.org/htm/hempstead.htm Made Explore on Dec. 21, 2005

Hempstead House at Sands Point, 2005

21 Dec 2005 282
Hempstead House, one of the "Gold Coast" mansions on the North Shore of Long Island. Inside the foyer of Hempstead House, one glimpse of the imposing vaulted ceiling stirs the imagination of a grand lifestyle that once existed at this Gold Coast estate. Even though the house is no longer furnished, its architecture provides a hint of an elegant time long gone. In its heyday in the 1920s, Hempstead House revealed a taste for extravagance. In the Entry Foyer was an organ made of oak. The pipes still visible on the walls above were merely for show - the music reverberated through openings in the floors. Medieval tapestries once hung on the walls, and oriental carpets covered the floor. The sunken Palm Court once contained 150 species of rare orchids and other plants. An aviary housed exotic birds in ornate cages among the flowers. The walnut-paneled Library was copied from the palace of King James I; relief portraits of literary figures still decorate the plaster ceiling. The Billiard Room featured a gold leaf ceiling, hand-tooled leather wall coverings, and carved oak woodwork from a 17th century Spanish palace. Even now, stone gargoyles around the ceiling peer down from above in the Summer Living Room. Other decorative features of the house during the Guggenheims’ occupancy included stained and leaded glass, red velvet draperies, Flemish tapestries, and artwork by Rembrandt, Van Dyck, and Rubens. In its prime, the estate employed 17 house servants, numerous farmers and groundskeepers, a golf pro, tennis pro, and a riding master. After Daniel passed away, his wife turned the buildings over to the Navy for a training center. During the late 1940s, extensive changes were made to the interior. The Palm Court’s original leaded glass roof was removed, and acoustic tile and fluorescent lighting were installed to conform to Navy code. At present, most of the Navy’s modifications have been removed and Hempstead House is now operated by the Nassau County Department of Parks, Recreation and Museums Text from: www.sandspointpreserve.org/htm/hempstead.htm

Dining Room Extension in Old Westbury Gardens, May…

08 Dec 2009 323
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

View of the Back of Westbury House in Old Westbury…

06 Dec 2009 396
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

View of the Back of Westbury House in Old Westbury…

06 Dec 2009 273
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

View of the Back of Westbury House in Old Westbury…

06 Dec 2009 318
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

The Back of Westbury House in Old Westbury Gardens…

25 Nov 2009 501
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

Westbury House in Old Westbury Gardens, May 2009

25 Nov 2009 338
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

Detail of Westbury House in Old Westbury Gardens,…

25 Nov 2009 403
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

Westbury House in Old Westbury Gardens, May 2009

25 Nov 2009 356
Old Westbury Gardens, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the former home of John S. Phipps, his wife, Margarita Grace Phipps and their four children. Completed in 1906 by the English designer, George A. Crawley, the magnificent Charles II-style mansion is nestled amid 200 acres of formal gardens, landscaped grounds, woodlands, ponds and lakes. Westbury House is furnished with fine English antiques and decorative arts from the more than fifty years of the family's residence. Text from: www.oldwestburygardens.org/

21 items in total