tarboat's photos with the keyword: clay

Draycott tin church

24 Sep 2024 8 2 137
One source suggests that St Augustine's, Draycott in the Clay, Staffordshire, was formed as a mission church in Hanbury parish from 1922. It has been lined out with highly polished wooden wall panels and has full heating. The bell cote was removed a few years ago and has been replaced in wood although the pinnacle and cross seem to be original.

Walleys marl pit

13 Mar 2023 143
Marl pit serving the Rosemary Hill Tileries on Cemetery Road, Silverdale. The was a brickworks operating on this site from before 1841 when it was occupied by William Brough. John Nash Peake took on the yard in 1875 and then Walley and Alsop making tiles in 1921. From 1926 to 1975 it was T E Walley and then G H Downing Ltd until sold to Steetley brick in 1981. A year later Steetley closed the works and transferred production to Knutton Tileries nearby. The marl hole continued in use to supply other works until after 2006 when it became a landfill with significant subsequent problems for the locals due to smells.

St Augustine's

22 Jan 2020 6 1 330
One source suggests that St Augustine's, Draycott in the Clay, Staffordshire, was formed as a mission church in Hanbury parish from 1922. It has been lined out with highly polished wooden wall panels and has full heating. The bell cote was removed a few years ago and has been replaced in wood although the pinnacle and cross seem to be original.

Aston Quay

08 Mar 2019 2 1 391
Today it is hard to imagine that this spot was once a bustling wharf from which coal, clay and bricks were exported in large quantities. All that now remains are these timbers that formed part of the quay. A quay developed at Lower, or King's Ferry on the River Dee, for the shipment of coal from about 1740 when the Mancot Tramway was built to link Big Mancot Colliery with the Dee at Mancot Mark. Around 1793 this was replaced by an iron plateway. Aston Quay, as it came to be known, expanded further following the construction of a second tramway, or in fact a system of tramways, which extended from Pentrobin Colliery, Buckley. The various sections of the tramway had different names but are generally referred to as the Aston Tramroad. The south section was built by Rigby, the Hawarden Ironmaster, and Hancock, the Buckley brick manufacturer, after the formation of a partnership in 1792. The lower 1¼ miles was replaced by an iron plateway around 1799, which served a number of businesses including Lane End brickworks at Buckley and Aston Hall Colliery. The plateway was eventually replaced by the standard gauge Aston Hall Colliery Railway. All that now remains are a few of the timbers that formed part of the quay.