Sculptures on the Pincio Hill in Rome, Dec. 2003
The Church of Santa Maria in Montesanto in Rome, 2…
Sculptures on the Pincio Hill in Rome, Dec. 2003
The Crucifixion of St. Peter by Caravaggio in the…
Servian Wall Remains Near Termini Train Station in…
Servian Wall Remains Near Termini Train Station in…
Bocca Della Verita in Rome, Dec. 2003
The Farnese Gardens on the Palatine Hill in Rome,…
View of the Palatine Hill from the Forum in Rome,…
View of the Countryside from the site of Paestum,…
Plan and Reconstruction of the Heroon in Paestum,…
The Heroon in Paestum, November 2003
Detail of the Heroon in Paestum, November 2003
Detail of the Heroon in Paestum, November 2003
The Heroon in Paestum, November 2003
Brick Peristyle in a Roman House in Paestum, 2003
BrickColumnsAtriumHouseDistancePaestum2003
Brick Columns around the Impluvium in a Roman Atri…
Brick Columns around the Impluvium in a Roman Atri…
Remains of a Greek House in Paestum, Nov. 2003
Doorjamb in a House in Paestum, 2003
Remains of Roman Houses in Paestum, 2003
Remains of a Roman House in Paestum, Nov. 2003
Fountain in Piazza del Popolo in Rome, 2003
Porta Del Popolo and Santa Maria Del Popolo in Rom…
Wall Painting in the Palazzo Massimo alle Terme Mu…
Detail of a Wall Painting of a Caryatid from the P…
Detail of a Wall Painting of a Caryatid in the Pal…
Wall Painting in the Palazzo Massimo alle Terme Mu…
Wall Painting in the Palazzo Massimo alle Terme Mu…
Urn Wall Painting from Livia's Villa of Prima Port…
Red Background Wall Painting in the Palazzo Massim…
Villa Floor Plan in the Palazzo Massimo alle Terme…
Detail of a Mosaic in the Palazzo Massimo alle Ter…
Mosaic in the Palazzo Massimo alle Terme Museum in…
Geometric Mosaic With a Central Insert in the Pala…
Black and White Geometric Mosaic in the Palazzo Ma…
Reclining Woman at the Baths of Diocletian in Rome…
Relief Sarcophagus in the Baths of Diocletian in R…
Reclining Couple on a Sarcophagus in the Baths of…
Relief Sarcophagus in the Baths of Diocletian in R…
Relief Sarcophagus with the Myth of Selene and End…
Strigel Sarcophagus in the Baths of Diocletian in…
Reclining Woman on a Sarcophagus in the Baths of D…
Sarcophagus with Erotes Supporting a Clipeus from…
Location
Lat, Lng:
You can copy the above to your favourite mapping app.
Address: unknown
You can copy the above to your favourite mapping app.
Address: unknown
Keywords
Authorizations, license
-
Visible by: Everyone -
All rights reserved
-
294 visits
Piazza Del Popolo in Rome at Dusk, Nov. 2003


The Piazza del Popolo is one of the most famous places, especially for foreigners, in Rome. The name in Italian means "piazza of the people", but historically it derives from the poplars (pioppo) after which the church of Santa Maria del Popolo, to the north of the square, takes its name.
The Piazza lies inside the northern gate of the Aurelian Walls, once the Porta Flaminia of Ancient Rome. This was the starting point of the Via Flaminia, the road to Ariminum (modern Rimini) and the most important route to the north. The layout of the piazza today was designed in neoclassical style between 1811 and 1822 by the architect Giuseppe Valadier, who demolished some buildings to form two semicircles, reminiscent of Bernini's plan for St. Peter's Square, replacing the original cramped trapezoidal square centred on the Via Flaminia.
An Egyptian obelisk of Ramesses II from Heliopolis stands in the centre of the Piazza.An Egyptian obelisk of Rameses II from Heliopolis stands in the centre of the Piazza. The obelisk, known as the obelisco Flaminio, is the second oldest and one of the tallest in Rome (some 24 m high, or 36 m including its plinth). The obelisk was brought to Rome in 10 BC by order of Augustus and originally set up in the Circus Maximus. It was re-erected here in the Piazza by the architect-engineer Domenico Fontana in 1589 as part of the urban plan of Sixtus V. The Piazza also formerly contained a central fountain, which was moved to the Piazza Nicosia in 1818, when fountains in the form of Egyptian-style lions were added around the base of the obelisk.
Looking from the north, three streets branch out from the Piazza, forming the so-called "trident" (il Tridente): the Via del Corso in the centre, the Via del Babuino on the left (opened in 1525 as the Via Paolina) and the Via di Ripetta (opened by Leo X in 1518 as the Via Leonina) on the right. Twin churches (the chiese gemelle) of Santa Maria dei Miracoli (1681) and Santa Maria in Montesanto (1679), begun by Carlo Rainaldi and completed by Bernini and Carlo Fontana, define the junctions of the roads. Close scrutiny of the twin churches reveals that they are not mere copies of one another, as they would have been in a Neoclassical project, but varying their details, offering variety within their symmetrical balance in Baroque fashion.
To the south, the central Via del Corso follows the course of the ancient Roman Via Flaminia, coming from the Capitol and the forum. The Via Flaminia became known as the Via Lata in the Middle Ages, before becoming today's Via del Corso and leads to the Piazza Venezia. The Via di Ripetta leads past the Mausoleum of Augustus to the Tiber, where the Porto di Ripetta was located until the late 19th century. The Via del Babuino ("Baboon"), linking to Piazza di Spagna, takes its name from a grotesque sculpture of Silenus, that gained the popular name of "the Baboon".
To the north of the Piazza stand the Porta del Popolo and the ancient church of Santa Maria del Popolo. The Porta del Popolo was reconstructed to the current appearance by Pope Alexander VII in 1655, to welcome Queen Christina of Sweden to Rome after her conversion to Roman Catholicism and abdication. It was designed by Bernini: whereas such festive structures elsewhere were built of weather-resistant plaster, in Rome the structure was more permanently executed in stone. Opposite Santa Maria del Popolo stands a Carabinieri station, with a dome reflecting that of the church.
Fountains stands on the each side of the Piazza to the east and west. Steps from the Piazza to the east lead up beside a waterfall to the Pincio park, near the Villa Borghese.
For centuries, the Piazza del Popolo was a place for public executions, the last of which took place in 1826.
Until quite recently, the Piazza del Popolo was choked with traffic in a sea of car parking; today, these have been swept away.
Text from: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piazza_del_Popolo
The Piazza lies inside the northern gate of the Aurelian Walls, once the Porta Flaminia of Ancient Rome. This was the starting point of the Via Flaminia, the road to Ariminum (modern Rimini) and the most important route to the north. The layout of the piazza today was designed in neoclassical style between 1811 and 1822 by the architect Giuseppe Valadier, who demolished some buildings to form two semicircles, reminiscent of Bernini's plan for St. Peter's Square, replacing the original cramped trapezoidal square centred on the Via Flaminia.
An Egyptian obelisk of Ramesses II from Heliopolis stands in the centre of the Piazza.An Egyptian obelisk of Rameses II from Heliopolis stands in the centre of the Piazza. The obelisk, known as the obelisco Flaminio, is the second oldest and one of the tallest in Rome (some 24 m high, or 36 m including its plinth). The obelisk was brought to Rome in 10 BC by order of Augustus and originally set up in the Circus Maximus. It was re-erected here in the Piazza by the architect-engineer Domenico Fontana in 1589 as part of the urban plan of Sixtus V. The Piazza also formerly contained a central fountain, which was moved to the Piazza Nicosia in 1818, when fountains in the form of Egyptian-style lions were added around the base of the obelisk.
Looking from the north, three streets branch out from the Piazza, forming the so-called "trident" (il Tridente): the Via del Corso in the centre, the Via del Babuino on the left (opened in 1525 as the Via Paolina) and the Via di Ripetta (opened by Leo X in 1518 as the Via Leonina) on the right. Twin churches (the chiese gemelle) of Santa Maria dei Miracoli (1681) and Santa Maria in Montesanto (1679), begun by Carlo Rainaldi and completed by Bernini and Carlo Fontana, define the junctions of the roads. Close scrutiny of the twin churches reveals that they are not mere copies of one another, as they would have been in a Neoclassical project, but varying their details, offering variety within their symmetrical balance in Baroque fashion.
To the south, the central Via del Corso follows the course of the ancient Roman Via Flaminia, coming from the Capitol and the forum. The Via Flaminia became known as the Via Lata in the Middle Ages, before becoming today's Via del Corso and leads to the Piazza Venezia. The Via di Ripetta leads past the Mausoleum of Augustus to the Tiber, where the Porto di Ripetta was located until the late 19th century. The Via del Babuino ("Baboon"), linking to Piazza di Spagna, takes its name from a grotesque sculpture of Silenus, that gained the popular name of "the Baboon".
To the north of the Piazza stand the Porta del Popolo and the ancient church of Santa Maria del Popolo. The Porta del Popolo was reconstructed to the current appearance by Pope Alexander VII in 1655, to welcome Queen Christina of Sweden to Rome after her conversion to Roman Catholicism and abdication. It was designed by Bernini: whereas such festive structures elsewhere were built of weather-resistant plaster, in Rome the structure was more permanently executed in stone. Opposite Santa Maria del Popolo stands a Carabinieri station, with a dome reflecting that of the church.
Fountains stands on the each side of the Piazza to the east and west. Steps from the Piazza to the east lead up beside a waterfall to the Pincio park, near the Villa Borghese.
For centuries, the Piazza del Popolo was a place for public executions, the last of which took place in 1826.
Until quite recently, the Piazza del Popolo was choked with traffic in a sea of car parking; today, these have been swept away.
Text from: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piazza_del_Popolo
- Keyboard shortcuts:
Jump to top
RSS feed- Latest comments - Subscribe to the comment feeds of this photo
- ipernity © 2007-2025
- Help & Contact
|
Club news
|
About ipernity
|
History |
ipernity Club & Prices |
Guide of good conduct
Donate | Group guidelines | Privacy policy | Terms of use | Statutes | In memoria -
Facebook
Twitter
Sign-in to write a comment.